Atlanta, GA, May 8, 2016 – The Atlanta Alumnae Panhellenic Association (AAPA) (, a community-based organization composed of alumnae from National Panhellenic Conference (NPC) member fraternities, held its annual Spring Scholarship Luncheon on May 7, 2016 at the Cherokee Town Club in Atlanta, Georgia. Since 1932, the AAPA has provided scholarships to women from the Atlanta area as part of its goal of supporting academic achievement among women. This year, the AAPA was pleased to present seven scholarships totaling $11,000. The scholarships were awarded to three high school seniors, two collegians, and two alumnae based on academic and service-based accomplishments and outstanding character.

This year’s High School Scholarship winners, receiving $1,000 each, were Eliza Antonowich of Norcross High School, Alissa Ji of Wheeler High School, and Elizabeth Harvey of The Westminster Schools. Antonowich will attend Washington University in St. Louis and plans to study pre-health and go to medical school. Ji plans on attending Yale University and double majoring in chemical engineering and economics. Harvey plans to attend Georgia Tech and will study Business with an emphasis in Marketing.

Recipients of the AAPA Collegian Scholarship attend Georgia colleges and universities and are members of NPC sororities. This year’s winners, who will receive $2,000 each, were Marguerite Bradley, a student at Georgia Tech and member of Alpha Xi Delta sorority, and MacKenzie McGraw, a student at the University of Georgia and member of Gamma Phi Beta sorority.

This year’s winner of the AAPA Alumnae Scholarship is Susan Davies, a member of Alpha Xi Delta sorority, who will receive $2,000 to assist in her pursuit of a Master of Medical Science in Physician Assistant Studies. The AAPA Luann Rhodes Scholarship, endowed by Marge Reason, Alpha Gamma Delta, was presented by Mrs. Reason’s daughter, Deirdre Hill, a member of Alpha Chi Omega and AAPA Ex-Officio, to Julie Samples, a member of Gamma Phi Beta sorority and will receive $2,000 as she pursues a Bachelor of Science in Nursing at Chamberlain College of Nursing.

At the luncheon, AAPA also recognized women and one alumnae chapter who have contributed outstanding service in civic affairs, education, the arts, and the Greek system. The 2016 Panhellenic Woman of the Year Award winners were  Fio Crockford (Kappa Delta) and Peggy Jones (Kappa Alpha Theta). Lee Anne White (Alpha Chi Omega) was honored as the Carolyn Hester Chapter Advisor of the Year.

Other highlights of the AAPA Scholarship Luncheon included a silent auction to benefit the AAPA Sisters for Scholars Fund and the installation of AAPA’s 2016-2017 Executive Officer Board. Installed officers included President Rigby Duncan (Alpha Xi Delta), Vice-President Rebecca King (Chi Omega), Treasurer Angie Ahrens (Sigma Kappa) and Secretary Phyllis Austin (Alpha Omicron Pi).

About Atlanta Panhellenic Alumnae Association:

Founded in 1927, the Atlanta Alumnae Panhellenic Association (AAPA) ( is a community-based organization affiliated with the National Panhellenic Conference (NPC). AAPA membership is composed of 21 representative alumnae from the 26 NPC member fraternities. For almost 90 years, the purpose of the AAPA has been to inform fraternity women of current trends, promote the fraternity system, improve the Panhellenic image, and stimulate a continuing interest in Panhellenic affairs.